Port Lincoln Railway Museum

The Museum is housed in several rooms in the stone station building, with larger items displayed in the nearby freight shed. Most of the rooms are in their original condition.

 

Visitors enter the museum via the former parcels office. Many smaller items are displayed here on the old parcels racks and in other cabinets. The former ticket office still includes the ticket window, Edmonson date imprinter and ticket rack still showing pre-decimal currency prices. Passenger services are described in a series of panels located in the old porters' room. The J.D. Somerville Reading Room houses photo albums, books and a large array of research material.

 

The museum archives contain an extensive and growing collection of photographs of railways on Eyre Peninsula, and the people associated with them. The archives also have extensive documentary material dating back to the construction of the first railway at Port Lincoln in 1906-07, as well as a collection of engineering drawings for the same period. Researchers, and people whose family history includes railwaymen on Eyre Peninsula, will find much of interest in these records.

 

Other displays include rail workers’ uniforms and a vast array of memorabilia. In the freight shed annexe are a number of items of rolling stock, some of which were unique to Eyre Peninsula. There are also some rail vehicles which were originally used in the construction of the Trans Australia Railway almost a hundred years ago; these last worked on the BHP lime sands tramway at Port Lincoln.

 

The museum is open on Wednesdays, Sundays and Public Holidays, 1 pm - 4 pm. Closed on Good Friday and Christmas Day. No longer open on Saturdays.

 

** Please check our Facebook page for latest news and any disruption to open days **